The ruins of the Franciscan Creevelea Friary are on the outskirts of Dromahair, Co. Leitrim . They stand on a small hill overlooking the River Bonet below. The Bonet separates the friary from Dromahair. It is 16km south east of Sligo.
In 1508 Margaret O’Brien and her husband, Eoghan O’Rourke founded Creevelea Friary. In the 17th century, the Cromwellian army expelled the Franciscans monks.
Protected national monument and area
Parts of the Friary are well-preserved – the nave, tower and transept. North of the friary are the remains of a large cloister, a chapterhouse and residential buildings including the kitchen. It is now protected as a national monument.
On the side of one of the cloister pillars is a small carving of Saint Francis preaching to the birds. There are also animal carvings under the tower.
The River Bonet is part of Lough Gill Special Area of Conservation. The 74 km Sligo Way walking trail finishes in Dromahair.
The Friary is surrounded by pasture full of wild flora which provides a peaceful walk following a path to the river – great for photographers. The cemetery next to the ruins is still being used today.
Just behind the Abbey Manor Hotel car park, is a small foot bridge over the River Bonet. There is a winding footpath along the river that leads to Crevala Friary – about a one mile picturesque walk.