Guinness to remove controversial fish bladders from brewing process

0
122
New vegan Guinness is made without using fish bladders

Guinness are set to remove something from their recipe for the first time in 258 years – and it’s unlikely that any of us will mind too much.
The iconic Irish brand have used fish bladders in their brewing process since day one way back in 1759.

The production of Guinness involves using isinglass (a protein found in fish bladders) to filter the stout.

Most people who enjoy the famous drink either didn’t know about this or maybe put it to the back of their minds when supping on a pint. However, it means that vegans have always unable to enjoy a taste of the black stuff.
In 2015, Guinness announced that they would be looking to rework their brewing process in order to remove the only animal product – while still retaining its unique taste.
They have been true to their word and are ready to roll out the new vegan friendly version of the stout.
Pubs will be the first place to get the new drink as it will only be available on draught – but the drink will be made available in bottles and cans later in the year.
Guinness released a statement saying: “The first stage of the roll out of the new filtration system concentrated on Guinness Draught in kegs.
“The brewery is delighted to confirm that this phase of the project is complete and all Guinness Draught produced in keg format at St. James’s Gate Brewery and served in pubs, bars and restaurants around the world, is brewed without using isinglass to filter the beer.”
Animal rights campaigners are delighted with the development.
PETA said on Facebook: “When we learned that Guinness removed isinglass (obtained from fish bladders) from its filtration method, some of us might have shed tears of joy.
“Stout-lovers can raise a glass to the fact that draught Guinness around the world is now vegan.”

Written by Michael Kehoe @michaelcalling